Building the Instrument – Wind the Player

Feb 1st 1am my t8me, I was walking by the sporthalle and heard faintly music, I turned, no one around, kept walking, then heard it again. Masked by the noisy flag poles whipping in the wind, I’d hear nothing, then it would emerge again.

“Gale-force gusts warning” were indeed blowing against the glass surfaces of Max Schmeling Hall ~ the hall was the musical instrument ~ chiming in medium high pitches ~ and the wind the player. It was almost imperceptible, but I have good hearing, not just a good imagination. So, the building where besides sporting events there are concerts, was itself making music.   https://www.max-schmeling-halle.de

Weather report “Es treten Sturmböen mit Geschwindigkeiten zwischen 55 km/h (15 m/s, 30 kn, Bft 7) und 70 km/h (20 m/s, 38 kn, Bft 8) aus westlicher Richtung auf” “There are gusts of wind with speeds between 55 km/h = 34 mph and 70 km/h = 43 mph) from the west.” I was thinking to myself that it was 17 to 25 mph winds. I was a bit off.

I’m in the meantime trying to discern which direction to steer myself, rather than being blown by the wind.

PayPal Donate Button
Carol Keiter aka nomadbeatz welcomes donations for her writing, photography, illustrations, eBook and music composition. The PayPal donation button functions in Safari and Firefox, however is broken in Chrome.

About carolkeiter
Aspiring writer, artist, musician and composer who was born and raised in the United States and has resided in several European countries. Communication is my forte; both through using various tools and in approaching people of divers backgrounds to gather information. Speak conversational - advanced intermediate - French, German and Spanish. Love interacting with people in cultural centers as much as going to remote places to learn more about the different creatures that share our planet. Love of the outdoors and of a variety of outdoor sports. Driven to learn and expand my own consciousness and understanding through curiosity and love of life. Creative skills merge with analytical ones, leading to an interest in a myriad of topics; ranging from politics, economics, science to environmental. Motivated to use my art, music and writing to support and educate people towards humane practices that support and respect all of life, including practices supporting a healthy planet.

Leave a comment