Best System is a Sound System ~ Bordeaux, FR Rave Protest 4/13/24

It was a day of protest Saturday, April 13th 2024 with 5 or so music trucks walking along the streets in Bordeaux, France.

pics of the street music protest and band playing 4/13/24 at Deus Ex Machina Bordeaux

I had just arrived in Bordeaux by train from Montpellier hours earlier – a 7am train after having to reschedule a train that would have arrived at midnight on Saturda. After dropping off my bags, I went across town to get an espresso and pastry at a place I have liked, Chat Noir Chat Vert Black Cat Green Cat. I was leaving there and started walking towards the river with my bicycle when I detected sounds and a crowd down the street in the distance. I had no clue this was happening, then realized it was a crowd of people marching behind a music truck towards me. What? A protest with music! Yeah!

Screenshot

As they approached, I joined immediately walking with my bicycle. I realized there was another music wagon behind the first. Eventually there were 4 or 5 separate music trucks with a group walking behind each (preferred dj). My lucky day! I couldn’t figure out any particular theme, bc every sign had its own message; anarchy style. I made a sign too ”Stop Genocide for Real Estate Profit” 

This was the best sign >The Only Good System is a Sound System< The sign in the background says “the government pisses on us and the media says it’s raining” “Le Gouvernement nous Pisse Dessus Les Medias Nous Disent Qui’il Pleut”

Many people were really decked out in punk and whatever sub genre style of fashion. Eye candy everywhere … I could have taken thousands of close-up picks of dress, hair, makeup on girls and boyz. It was non-violent fun, while making the statements towards freedom from oppression and police violence and the right to gather and enjoy life.

That Saturday night in Bordeaux I bicycled over to the riverfront to Hanger 16 to find a crowd of people at the outside tables at Deus Ex Machina to hear another band for free. 

PayPal Donate Button

Carol Keiter aka nomadbeatz welcomes donations for her writing, photography, illustrations, eBook and music composition. The PayPal donation button functions in Safari and Firefox, however is broken in Chrome.